A project of
How California Congressional delegations voted on health care legislation

How California members of Congress voted on preserving Medicare

Are the members of the California Congressional delegation working to preserve Medicare as we know it — or to change it into something else entirely?

We’ve selected key votes, revealed how each member of Congress voted and then told you how we think Congress should have voted.

Click on any photo to see:

California Senators

Senator Dianne Feinstein

Dianne Feinstein

Senator Kamala Harris

Kamala Harris

California Representatives

Representative Pete Aguilar

Pete Aguilar

Representative Nanette Barragán

Nanette Barragán

Representative Karen Bass

Karen Bass

Representative Ami Bera

Ami Bera

Representative Julia Brownley

Julia Brownley

Representative Ken Calvert

Ken Calvert

Representative Salud Carbajal

Salud Carbajal

Representative Tony Cárdenas

Tony Cárdenas

Representative Judy Chu

Judy Chu

Representative Gilbert Cisneros

Gilbert Cisneros

Representative Paul Cook

Paul Cook

Representative J. Correa

J. Correa

Representative Jim Costa

Jim Costa

Representative TJ Cox

TJ Cox

Representative Susan Davis

Susan Davis

Representative Mark DeSaulnier

Mark DeSaulnier

Representative Anna Eshoo

Anna Eshoo

Representative John Garamendi

John Garamendi

Representative Jimmy Gomez

Jimmy Gomez

Representative Josh Harder

Josh Harder

Representative Katie Hill

Katie Hill

Representative Jared Huffman

Jared Huffman

Representative Duncan Hunter

Duncan Hunter

Representative Ro Khanna

Ro Khanna

Representative Doug LaMalfa

Doug LaMalfa

Representative Barbara Lee

Barbara Lee

Representative Mike Levin

Mike Levin

Representative Ted Lieu

Ted Lieu

Representative Zoe Lofgren

Zoe Lofgren

Representative Alan Lowenthal

Alan Lowenthal

Representative Doris Matsui

Doris Matsui

Representative Kevin McCarthy

Kevin McCarthy

Representative Tom McClintock

Tom McClintock

Representative Jerry McNerney

Jerry McNerney

Representative Grace Napolitano

Grace Napolitano

Representative Devin Nunes

Devin Nunes

Representative Jimmy Panetta

Jimmy Panetta

Representative Nancy Pelosi

Nancy Pelosi

Representative Scott Peters

Scott Peters

Representative Katie Porter

Katie Porter

Representative Harley Rouda

Harley Rouda

Representative Lucille Roybal-Allard

Lucille Roybal-Allard

Representative Raul Ruiz

Raul Ruiz

Representative Linda Sánchez

Linda Sánchez

Representative Adam Schiff

Adam Schiff

Representative Brad Sherman

Brad Sherman

Representative Jackie Speier

Jackie Speier

Representative Eric Swalwell

Eric Swalwell

Representative Mark Takano

Mark Takano

Representative Mike Thompson

Mike Thompson

Representative Norma Torres

Norma Torres

Representative Juan Vargas

Juan Vargas

Representative Maxine Waters

Maxine Waters